In the opening exchanges of the Fourth Review Conference of the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons, there has been resolute opposition to a US-led effort to push through a new protocol to the Convention that would allow the use of many of the cluster munitions already banned under the 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions.

The following 29 states associated themselves with a statement confirming that there is no consensus around the current chair’s draft text. The group noted that their concerns and ongoing disagreements have not yet been addressed and that the draft does not adequately respond to the humanitarian problems of cluster munitions.┬áThe statement further warned that the current negotiations were at risk of taking steps in the wrong direction, undermining the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons and diminishing its relevance as an instrument of International Humanitarian Law.

The 29 states associated with the statement are: Austria, Burkina Faso, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, DRC, Djibouti, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Holy See, Iceland, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Madagascar, Mali, Mexico, Mozambique, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Norway, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Togo, and Uruguay (CCW States Parties in bold).

Global civil society campaign the Cluster Munition Coalition, the ICRC and a group of UN and humanitarian agencies also spoke out against the current draft protocol. Lynn Bradach, mother of U.S. Marine Corporal Travis Bradach-Nall who was killed by an unexploded BLU 97 submunition in Iraq in 2003, also spoke on behalf of the Ban Advocates.



Posted in: CCW, Cluster munitions, Uncategorized,
Tagged: , , ,